<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>CafeChatNoir &#187; Scams</title>
	<atom:link href="http://cafechatnoir.net/category/scams/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://cafechatnoir.net</link>
	<description>No fate but the fate you make for yourself.</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Tue, 24 Aug 2010 07:43:19 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.4</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Well, that&#8217;s a new one&#8230;</title>
		<link>http://cafechatnoir.net/2009/02/21/well-thats-a-new-one/</link>
		<comments>http://cafechatnoir.net/2009/02/21/well-thats-a-new-one/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 21 Feb 2009 17:59:08 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>CDC</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[High Finance]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Scams]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://cafechatnoir.net/?p=4350</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I already get lots of &#8220;This is your last chance to lower your interest rates!&#8221; phone calls, which I hang up on.  This morning I was greeted with a new scam.
I had a text message on my phone from &#8220;department@visacards.com&#8221; with the message: Important VISA CARD notice:id-FF721 SUSPICIOUS AUTHORIZATION.  TOLL FREE 8882275019.
Well, how [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I already get lots of &#8220;This is your last chance to lower your interest rates!&#8221; phone calls, which I hang up on.  This morning I was greeted with a new scam.</p>
<p>I had a text message on my phone from &#8220;department@visacards.com&#8221; with the message: Important VISA CARD notice:id-FF721 SUSPICIOUS AUTHORIZATION.  TOLL FREE 8882275019.</p>
<p>Well, how nice of them to leave me a phone number!  Except that isn&#8217;t the phone number of either of my Visa card issuers, but that&#8217;s just a minor detail.</p>
<p>I called Chase anyway (on their actual business number) to see if anyone else had gotten this message.  The rep said he&#8217;d just gotten off the phone with another customer who&#8217;d also gotten the same message, and it definitely wasn&#8217;t from them.  I also called PFCU to let them know what was going on (I have a Visa debit card through them) and they said it definitely wasn&#8217;t them, either, as they don&#8217;t use text messages.</p>
<p>The beauty of this scam is that they&#8217;re taking advantage of the fact that many card issuers have all sorts of mobile options, so you might not think it unusual to get a text message about your credit card, and the fact that it seems that no two issuers have the same procedures when it comes to fraud detection and notification.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://cafechatnoir.net/2009/02/21/well-thats-a-new-one/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>9</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
